DaVinci Resolve offers the first multi-user collaboration

Collaborate with Davinci Resolve Studio

Blackmagic Designs DaVinci Resolve is the first complete software suite for video editing, color correction, audio post-production, and visual FX that enable a multi-user collaborative workflow. 

The conventional post-production process, characterized by a linear workflow where each professional hands over his finished work to the next, has become obsolete.

Why? It makes it difficult to check every step and also causes errors.

DaVinci Resolve is the first video editing software that allows multi-user collaboration

Collaborative workflow features

So, what does this mean?

It means you need a database to keep track of everything:

  • The DaVinci Resolve Project Server;
  • Fast and reliable shared storage for your high-resolution media.

Subsequently, with the introduction of the DaVinci Resolve 18.1 Project Server, multiple users can on open and edit the same project on several workstations simultaneously.

Exactly what the post-production industry needs, as people today work remotely more than ever and collaborate with many different professionals. Why? To deliver their projects faster and to bring them to a higher quality level.

Collaborative workflow and Blackmagic Design Cloud

How can you actually use this collaborative workflow?
You just need one for free Blackmagic Design Cloud ID to access a DaVinci Resolve Project Server in the Cloud.

You may be invited by someone else to collaborate. Or, if you have a project that requires remote collaborators, you can set up your own project library for a monthly fee and collaborate with up to 10 Blackmagic Cloud users.

Therefore, the collaborative workflow, thanks to Black Magic Design Cloud, ensures that users can:

  • See when and what changes are made;
  • Deciding whether to accept them;
  • Take advantage of the timeline comparison tool, because it allows people to continue editing by merging changes into a master timeline.

Dropbox and GoogleDrive

In addition, this new collaborative Cloud workflow, promoted by Blackmagic Design, offers the ability to share media through the synchronization option with Dropbox of Google Drive. Thus, everyone can work faster and have a copy of the file, where all changes made by others can be viewed.

The synchronization is continuous and thereby allowa each collaborator to work in real-time, without losing anything.

We can also help you find and activate your Dropbox subscription. In this way you get the most out of your collaborative workflow.

Feel free to contact us for more information!

Blackmagic Design in its collaborative workflow interface also provides the syncronization with Dropobox or Google Drive.

Blackmagic Design provides its collaborative workflow interface as well as synchronization with Dropbox or Google Drive.

The file can be saved to the storage of your choice. So you can decide to use your local storage or, if that's not enough, Blackmagic design developed the new Blackmagic Cloud Stores.

The Cload Stores are offered in different variants including Black Magic Cloud Store, Black Magic Cloud Store Mini of Black Magic Cloud Pod. They are very fast NAS (Network Attached Storage) solutions with different capacities and can handle up to very large media files.

At Socrates AV we have the Black Magic Cloud Store Mini 8TB and Black Magic Cloud Pod available, so let's check out their pages for more information!

Collaborative workflow and Blackmagic Design Proxy generator

Are you struggling with the large size of your files because you want to keep a high resolution? Black Magic Proxy Generator was born for this. This makes it possible to create free proxy versions of the original high-resolution camera images with DaVinci Resolve Studio.

Audio and image files are stored in the proxy folder. They are then automatically linked to the original media by Davinci Resolve Studio. In addition, you can also save the proxies locally to use them offline and share them via Dropbox.

So, while the original clips are copied to the Black Magic Cloud Store, the Blackmagic Proxy Generator creates a proxy version. So that, all users can access the timeline, using their Blackmagic Design ID, edit it and provide feedback via the Chat. Another valuable tool that is part of the collaborative workflow.

Bin and timeline locking

Multiple users can work at the same time without overwriting each other's work thanks to the timeline locking and bin creation function. In fact, timelines and bins are "read only" until the current user releases them.

New features and functions are already in the works by Blackmagic Design. Like the presentation option, to make the collaborative workflow as productive as possible.

So follow us on Instagram, Facebook en LinkedIn to stay update!

X

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more info

The cookie settings on this website are set to 'allow cookies' to give you the best browsing experience possible.If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click on "Accept" below then you agree with these institutions.

Close